height is merely a measure of how far you have yet to fall

Blimey.

No, really, holy hell. I had no idea about any of this, the process or the kind of people involved. I… really didn’t think about what happens to commercial ships when they wore out, just didn’t cross my mind. I know the Americans scrupulously recycle their nuclear warships, and the Russians just dump their old fighting ships on the Murmansk coast for people like me to look at on Google Maps. This is an entirely different kind of incredible.

4 thoughts on “height is merely a measure of how far you have yet to fall

  1. haemony says:

    I’ve only just got through the description of the process at Alang (tis a long article!), but I mean to get through the rest of it later. Fascinating.

  2. Anonymous says:

    TL;DR?

  3. huntersglenn says:

    That’s an old article, but scary because I’m sure things like that are still going on. We’ve got a ship graveyard in the James River here in Virginia, and after one particularly bad storm tore holes in the sides of some of the ships, letting all kinds of nasty stuff out, we (the state government) was finally able to get the Federal government to actually do something about getting the ships out of there. I know some went to a demolition company in Europe, but I don’t know where some of the others went. And then there’s the ones still anchored there, left because they were still in good enough shape to not yet be a hazard.

Leave a Reply

